On being American & considering marriage to a Kuwaiti National Guardsman: I’m not mad at him; I just know we can’t be together.


I’m not mad at him; I just know we can’t be together.

I know he wants forever, connection with me. I know he dreams; but he also knows his reality.

We could kiss forever, admire one another eternally. We could bring forth children that were clever, critical thinkers and free.

We could encourage the health of one another with the meals that we’ve cooked, making sure to never overlook the sweet pleasures in life. I could have been his wife.

He could have been my man, my helping hand, my lover’s rock. Too bad it didn’t happen though.

Too bad money became his captain, his guiding seas. Too bad he loved his money more than he loved me.

Image

It’s too bad he lives in a country that suppresses his liberty, a place where his employer controls his matrimony. Beginning a marriage with an American is a felony… unless you start all over again.

And Again was something he couldn’t do. Couldn’t throw away 5 years of hard work just to be with his boo. Couldn’t stand not being a bread winning man, not even just for a few. He needed to take care of me, protect me, guide me, whatever he needed to do.

When a man needs help, it’s hard to come to, because he has to allow his woman to be strong, to take care of him too.

All easier said than done. I’ve come to a place where I know what I want. Or should I say, what I need, because I can’t stay with a man that won’t commit to me.

More than a pretty ring or a wedding invitation, I need someone that’s going to assist in the creation of a unit: 1 family, 1 home, 1 lifetime.  I need him to bank on our time spent together.  I need him to adore me even through stormy weather.

But I’m a traveling woman and a traveling woman must find doors to walk through, always seeking the next level, unless… he came along, or I was willing to stay. Either way, we had some serious decisions to make.

Image

So he chose is money, his security and his 5 years of hard work. He chose to base our future on his potential income instead of basing it on my worth.

What’s a risk taken without a commitment to see it through? A bluff to give time, time to enjoy the woman who’s willing put in effort, effort to support you, with or without your ability to financially contribute. But you’re only in this as long as your money plans work out for you, because if they don’t, we’re over and this just wont continue.

And for that reason honey, I’m not mad at you. I just know that our time is up, and we can’t be together.

About Feminist Living

As a consumer, you have the right to choose products that are not integral components to ideologies and industries that go against your beliefs as a free person and protector of human rights. FeministLiving is the founder of FeministLiving.com, an online hub for the daily living needs of feminists across the globe. Living while feminist can be challenging when you are bombarded with war, poverty, violence in media, and the violence you encounter every single day. As colonized people we are in a special place to embrace our migrations and come together to support one another in our efforts to be free. FeministLiving.com is an online hub to help feminists purchase their daily feminist needs. Listen to empowering music from women who celebrate women; music that does not objectify us. See the art of feminist activists and grace your home with inspiration. Read feminist literature like romance and science fiction novelists, Gweneth Bolton, Iris Bolling and Ovtavia Butler and order online directly from the bookseller. Watch for Fashionable Freedom to learn where to find oppression free clothing, styled with liberty. Stay current with safe space blogs like The Crunk Feminists Collective and awesome cartoons about women of color such as The Mis-Adventures of Awkward Black Girl and Friends. Find a midwife for expecting mothers and a feminist-friendly place to worship… the possibilities are endless… Let us laugh together and share our stories. Let us look up and recognize the love and support we do have, here online with FeministLiving.com, a place where we can experience one another in one place. This is our space. Let us live, wholeheartedly and with blessed intentions. As each one of us changes the world around us everyday, help support this safe space to expand feminist-owned businesses, voices, media, activism and our everyday lives. Feminists are ALIVE and PRESENT. Help us find one another and share. 100% of our donations go directly to the Web Development Fund for FeministLiving.com to cover webpage design and development, making it possible for feminists to have global access to oppression-free products and our daily feminist living needs. DONATE NOW! http://www.gofundme.com/FeministLivingcom

Leave a comment